Correlations

All evening I was looking at graphs and charts it felt like graduate school.  Unhappily, I have to understand the inputs in small fonts, around midnight, through various accents, and via webcon.  Worse, where in school I’d just allow my mind to do its usual response to anything mathematical (it shuts down), I have to be attentive in this teleconference as I was seated beside The Boss.

It felt like seating beside the dean while doing Math 100 or Econ 102.

Various correlations were made in the presentations: climate to agricultural GDP, rainfall with pests, income with program A, agri yield with program B, name it, scientists could correlate it.

Sometime last week, in his usual academic inquisitiveness, Jun suggested that I note down the days when mass actions would occur outside of the Department of Agrarian Reform.  He was serious when he said the result might be useful (or at least interesting).  I laughed at his suggestion.

But this evening I figured correlations and tabulations could make me look mathematically intelligent.  So, why not?  I could do graphs too.  I could point out curves and outliers too.

However, instead of locating mass struggle patterns, I think it is more useful to look into the relation between road repairs at the QC Circle and other variables.  After all, road repairs (due to various reasons like Manila Water issues, graveling, cementing, flood control) at QC Circle have become more frequent than rallies.  Hence, I’d ask the question, “Under what conditions do road repairs happen?”  Specifically, do repairs relate to – –

Particular holidays? – Do they happen during red letter days like June 12 or Dec 25 or the CARP Anniv?

Specific days of the week? – Do repairs happen on M, T, W, Th, F, or the weekend?

Size of the moon? – Do repairs occur during full moon, half moon or perhaps during summer solstice?  If yes, why?

Showing of particular movies or start of telenovelas? – Do repairs coincide with, or possibly directly related to, the commencement of new shows like Amaya?

Specific distance of planet earth from the moon? – Malay natin?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Correlations

  1. Jae says:

    namiss ko ang blog na ito. =)

  2. capacio says:

    At na miss ko rin mag blog. Mega happy ako na nakabalik ka na rin sa blogging world. Ikaw ang nag inspire sa akin magsulat ulit. Kung mapapansin mo, nagsimula ulit ako nung nakabawi ka na.

    At na miss na kita, Jae 🙂

Leave a comment